Category Archives: Uncategorized

Moon Landing Memoir by Monica Corish on Sunday Miscellany

On Sunday, 14 July 2019, the Sunday Miscellany programme on RTE 1 will broadcast a personal memoir by Monica Corish of the excitement of watching the Apollo 11 moon landing on television in 1969. Podcasts of the Sunday Misc programmes … Continue reading

Posted in On Writing, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

You Think You’re Too Busy to Write?

Erle Stanley Gardner, who was a practicing lawyer before he took up writing, said: “I still have vivid recollections of putting in day after day of trying a case in front of a jury, which is one of the most … Continue reading

Posted in Quotes on Writing, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

“Spend the afternoon. You can’t take it with you.”

— a fine quote from Annie Dillard, author of Pilgrim at Tinker Creek and Holy the Firm. An excellent, cost-prudent way to spend the afternoon (and part of the morning) of Sunday, 26 May will be to join in Monica … Continue reading

Posted in Quotes on Writing, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

“Kids want tough books, chewy books — not pap.”

Robert Heinlein, author of Stranger in a Strange Land, said: “Kids want tough books, chewy books — not pap.” He called his books “speculative fiction” rather than “science fiction,” in the tradition of Jules Verne and H.G. Wells. He tried to … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized

Second Image of Black Hole Photographed

First image of black hole:

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

“…an arrow headed at a target”

“I never know whether something is going to work until the last word of the last line of the last draft. Well, to be accurate, it’s not the last draft. It’s what I think is the last draft. Generally, after … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized

“Poems keep us conscious of the importance of our individual lives.” – Dorianne Laux

If you never read another word about writing, read Dorriane Laux’s interview in Plume.  She doesn’t need to define poetry — she demonstrates it. A sample: “I’m not sure I can define poetry except that it’s something that defies definition.  … Continue reading

Posted in Quotes on Writing, Uncategorized | Leave a comment